300 XC · Bikes

Bike Build – ’14 KTM 300 XC

I’ve been on the hunt for a 300 2 stroke for quite a while now with the intentions of starting to race again. Here is story…

After posting want to buy adds on several forums, scowering the interwebs, traveling from dealer to dealer, impatiently twiddling my thumbs, I finally found a real gem. Stu was ready to part with his bike and he just so happened to live pretty close to me. He had a 300 XC with only 33 hours on the ticker!  Unbelievable really, so after a chat on the phone I headed over to take a look. It was perfect, so we exchanged money and paperwork and I set off into the sunset.

WEEK ONE

Stu was shorter than me and so he completed some modifications to make it slightly lower. I immediately raised it back up by dropping the forks and flipping the spacers on the Fastway link guard. In the meantime I contacted Jeff at Rippinruts to get some graphics started, and sweet baby Jesus do they look rad.


After I made my own suspension adjustments I headed over to Decker Performance so that Ben could help with sag and other adjustments. He did his best with the current springs but we think some stiffer ones will be needed. There is also something funny about the rear shock but we can’t put our finger on it. We’ll see how the first race goes.

Stu took of the e-starter so I put it back in. While I had it apart I greased up all of the internal gears and swapped the old gasket with a new.


Along with flipping the spacers in the rear linkage I also needed to lower the forks.

Radiator guards should be here any day, those will be next.  Hopefully I’ll have the graphics on next week.

The wiring behind the headlight kept poking at my OCD so I took it off and cleaned up the birds nest.

Graphics turned out killer! Bib mousse have been ordered.

WEEK TWO

Exactly 2 weeks after having the bike I raced my first hare scramble in well over 5 years. It’s safe to say that I got my ass kicked.  But man oh man was it worth every second.

The gear trail as I climbed into the trailer…

I had my doubts about the rear shock set up and my doubts were 100% confirmed after the race.  I feel 2 inches shorter and if it weren’t my first race of the year I would have quit.  I pulled the shock and took it to Decker.  He found the problem and while we were at it we swapped the Race Tech spring with a stiffer one, and now I hope for the best.

Last night I installed the Michelin Bib Mousse tubes.  I honestly can’t believe this build really only took 2 weeks.  This was obviously not possible without finding such a solid used bike that had most everything a 300XC needs.  Now it’s time to enjoy riding and racing!

-Josh

Leave a Reply

